September moodboard

Today’s moodboard: scattered feelings.

Here’s the thing about inspiration: it is short-lived, fleeting, rare and never there when you most need it… at least that’s the case for me. Lately I have been finding it difficult to find the source of inspiration which I much need in order to direct myself in my projects, my creativity and my reflection. To me, motivation and inspiration seem to coexist, go hand in hand, and therefore it is very important for me to find a way to keep a visual and contextual journal of my thoughts, experiences and simply the things that light even the tiniest fire in me.

screen-shot-2017-09-13-at-22-53-56-e1513616336122.png

Say five years ago, I would spend hours on tumblr just exploring the visual qualities in images and truly taking pleasure in keeping track of the images that appeal to me for whatever reason. It has been a while since I properly took a moment to do that lately, however, I do enjoy going back through my page and noticing patterns, finding frames of the multiple images that just fit together perfectly. Sleek, feminine, minimal. Then bright and loud, or a melange of black and white. Images, more than anything, are able to convey emotion and truly speak to me, but right now, it’s time for words. Because sometimes, it is easier to visualise a mood than it is to explain your emotions, which is exactly what I would like to do more.  I used to write a lot, and I surely miss it, and words, just like images, have the power to inspire.

Screen Shot 2017-12-21 at 20.54.45.png

So, from now on, I will use more words. Share my experiences. Get those thoughts together and really let myself be inspired through writing.

Piece of advice to self: “Stop being afraid of what could go wrong and start being excited about what could go right. Zig Ziglar” 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.